• Memeburn
      Tech-savvy insight and analysis
    • Gearburn
      Incisive reviews for the gadget obsessed
    • Motorburn
      Because cars are gadgets
    • Jobsburn
      Digital industry jobs for the anti 9 to 5!

Here are the 40 finalists that were nominated for 2018 AWIEF Awards

The Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum (Awief) has announced the finalists of its 2018 Awief Awards.

In all, 40 women founders and entrepreneurs from 12 different African countries have been selected across eight different categories. The winners are set to be announced at an event in Cape Town on 9 November.

Through the awards, Awief aims to promote excellence in entrepreneurship and innovation among women-owned businesses in all sectors and across the 54 African countries.

A total of 40 women founders and entrepreneurs from 12 different African countries have been selected for the 2018 AWIEF Awards

In a statement on Monday (17 September) Awief founder and CEO Irene Ochem noted that women-owned businesses are a vital part of the African economy.

“The massive response to the Awief Awards underscores the fact that women in Africa are resilient and seeking recognition and celebration for their achievements and contribution to the economy and Africa’s sustainable development,” added Ochem.

The finalists are:

Young entrepreneur award

Jane Kagiri (Kenya): Creative Edge Solutions
Nomso Faith Kana (South Africa): Sun n Shield Technologies
Juliet Namujju (Uganda): Kimuli Fashionability
Kunmi Otitoju (Nigeria): Minku
Bidemi Zakariyau (Nigeria) LSF PR

Tech entrepreneur award

Benji Coetzee (South Africa): Empty Trips
Faith Kimeu (Kenya): Dial A Pad
Beth Koigi (Kenya): Majik Water
Darlene Menzies (South Africa): Finfind
Juliana Rotich (Kenya): BRCK.Org

Social entrepreneur award

Essma Ben Hamida (Tunisia): Enda Inter-Arabe
Madalitso Chidumu (Malawi): Impact Ceed
Shamim Nabuma Kaliisa (Uganda): Community Dental and Reproductive Health
Lorna Rutto (Kenya): EcoPosts
Amina Slaoui (Morocco): Groupe AMH

Global brand award

Sarah Collins (South Africa): Wonderbag
Adele Dejak (Kenya): Adèle Dejak
Renchia Droganis (South Africa): Africology
Njeri Rionge (Kenya): Wananchi Group
Bethlehem Tilahun-Alemu (Ethiopia): SoleRebels

Agri-entrepreneur award

Ngabaghila Chatata (Malawi): Thanthwe Enterprises
Elorm Goh (Ghana): Agrisolve
Jeanne Groenewald (South Africa): Elgin Free Range Chickens
Joyce Kyalema (Uganda): Josmak International
Jane Maigua (Kenya): Exotic EPZ

Empowerment award

Emma Dicks (South Africa): CodeSpace
Kate Ekanem (Nigeria): Kate Tales Foundation
Chiedza Daneek Nobuhle Kambasha (Zimbabwe): Hemmingworth Cartwright
Irene Kiwia (Tanzania): The Women of Achievement
Marvella Odili (Nigeria): Save Our Needy Organisation

Creative industry award

Folake Folarin-Coker (Nigeria): Tiffany Amber
Nana Akua Oppong-Birmeh (Ghana): ArchXenus
Soraya Piedade (Angola): Soraya da Piedade
Abai Schulze (Ethiopia): ZAAF Collection
Winnifred Selby(Ghana): Afrocentric Bamboo also known as the Ghana Bamboo Bike Initiative

Lifetime achievement award

Iyalode Alaba Lawson (Nigeria): NACCIMA Business Women Group
Margaret Hirsch (South Africa): Hirsch’s Homestores
Tabitha Karanja (Kenya): Keroche Breweries
Wendy Luhabe (South Africa): Women Private Equity Fund
Jennifer Riria (Kenya): Echo Network Africa, Kenya Women Holding

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com