Yuppiechef, Takealot take top spots at SA’s eCommerce Awards 2015

South Africa’s top ecommerce websites of 2015 were announced last night in Johannesburg, with major players Yuppiechef and Takealot claiming two top spots each.

After filtering through approximately 200 entrants and over 90 000 votes, organiser of the 2015 eCommerce Awards, uAfrica, revealed the top 50 ecommerce players in the country back in August.

Seven online shopping businesses were ultimately recognised by the eCommerce Awards, along with an Achievement Award as well as the Best Female Entrepreneur Award.

“The eCommerce Awards have previously been exclusively an online event, however in 2013 and 2014 we announced the winners and runners-up at the South African eCommerce Conference — incorporating it into the concept ‘everything eCommerce’,” explains uAfrica MD Andy Higgins. “However as it is the 10th year we want to focus purely on the Awards by hosting an event dedicated to celebrating this achievement.”

It’s interesting to see how much the tides have changed over the last year. In 2014, Kalahari, Yuppiechef and Zando were among the event’s top favourites, with Takealot unable to secure a win in any of the categories. Today, after Kalahari was absorbed by Takealot, the latter managed to secure top spots in two prestigious categories.

Read more: Naspers reveals the true numbers behind Takealot, Kalahari merger

As it did in previous years, premium kitchenware outfit Yuppiechef was also recognised in two top categories.

As listed on the announcement page, below are the top ecommerce companies in South Africa today:

Takealot winner of the South Africa’s Favourite eCommerce Website Award

Yuppiechef winner of the Best eCommerce Store Award

Yuppiechef winner of the Best Shopping Process Award

Action Gear winner of the Best Customer Service Award

Bidorbuy winner of the Best eCommerce Services Platform Award

Kapas Baby and Toddler winner of the Best Small eCommerce Business Award

Takealot winner of the Best eCommerce Mobile Site Award

Daniel Guasco and Wayne Gosling winners of the eCommerce Achievement Award

Karen Spies winner of the Best Female Entrepreneur Award

Jacques Coetzee: Staff Reporter


Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights. sign up

Welcome to Ventureburn

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights.