AfriLabs expands footprint to four new countries, adds 23 new hubs

Afrilabs, a pan-African network of innovation hubs, has announced the addition of 23 new hubs, while expanding its footprint to four new countries — Burundi, Lesotho, Mozambique and Sudan.

AfriLabs now covers 123 hubs across 34 African countries in its network. In June the organisation announced that its network had grown to 100 labs spanning 30 countries across the continent.

In a statement yesterday (3 October), Afrilabs executive director Anna Ekeledo said the organisation was excited to have added the new members to its network and for extending its reach to more African countries.

AfriLabs’ network now comprises a total of 123 hubs across 34 African countries

“We believe that we are moving closer to an integrated and prosperous continent fostered by open collaboration, innovation and entrepreneurship and driven by hubs and their communities across Africa,” said Ekeledo.

The 23 new members of the AfriLabs network are:

Central Africa

Cameroon: Zixtech Hub (Limbe), Jongo Hub (Buea), Innova237 (Douala)
DRC: Ingenious City (Kinshasa),

East Africa

Burundi: Impact Hub Bujumbura (Bujumbura), 
Apps Lab (Eldoret), Lawyers Hub (Nairobi), TechBridge Startup Hub (Mombasa), SwahiliBox Labs (Mombasa)
Tanzania: Robotech Lab (Dar es Salaam)
Sudan: Impact Hub (Khartoum)

Southern Africa

Lesotho: The Hub (Morija)
Mzuzu E-Hub (Mzuzu)
Mozambique: Ideario (Maputo)
South Africa: 
Siyon Capital (Pretoria)
Jacaranda Hub (Lusaka)

West Africa

Ghana: Hopin Academy (Tamale)
Nigeria: Enovate Lab (Kano), Heartland Incubation Hub (Owerri), (Lagos), Tomruk iHub (Jos), Fastlaunch Incubator (Lagos)
Togo: Lome Tech Hub (Lome)

Read more: AfriLabs extends network into North Africa, West Africa, Somaliland, Angola



Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights. sign up

Welcome to Ventureburn

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights.