SA government to set up township digital hubs in four provinces reveals Ramaphosa

The government will set up digital hubs in the South Africa’s townships, initially in four provinces, President Cyril Ramaphosa said today.

He made the announcement during his State of the Nation Address in Parliament in Cape Town today (7 February).

Ramaphosa said the government’s incubation programme currently consists of a network of 51 technology business incubators — which fall under the Small Enterprise Development Agency (Seda), 10 enterprise supplier development incubators and 14 rapid youth incubators (also under Seda).

“As part of the expansion of this programme, township digital hubs will be established, initially in four provinces, with more to follow,” he said.

He did not reveal the names of the four provinces.

Township digital hubs will be set up in four provinces initially, President Cyril Ramaphosa revealed in his State of the Nation Address

Said Ramaphosa: “We expect these hubs to provide most needed entrepreneurial service to small and medium enterprises in the rural areas and townships but more especially to young people who want to start their businesses”.

Featured image: South Africa president Cyril Ramaphosa (GovernmentZA via Flickr)



Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights. sign up

Welcome to Ventureburn

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights.