Village Capital announces the names of NextGen Ecosystem Builders Africa 2020 cohort


US venture capital (VC) company Village Capital has announced the names of the business advisors and hub representatives selected for its NextGen Ecosystem Builders Africa 2020.

The programme will run in collaboration with the African Management Institute with support from the Dutch Good Growth Fund.

The VC company launched a call for applications in January for a management training programme aimed at helping train those that work at entrepreneur support organisations in Africa (see this story).

Village Capital has selected 47 mid-level managers for its NextGen Ecosystem Builders Africa 2020 programme

The programme will include three workshops. The first two virtual sessions will be held in June and July. Village Capital will confirm later whether a final sessions, to be run in September, will be conducted in-person or virtually.

Village Capital said this week that more than 130 organisations had applied to take part in the programme.

It said with the help of its advisory board, 47 mid-level managers from 24 incubators, accelerators and seed funds were selected. They are:

African Leadership Academy (South Africa): Thokoza Mjo and Leisl Algeo
Sèmè City (Benin): Nadine Dofonou and Sandra Dossa
Anza (Tanzania): Ellen Mndima and Stephen Mallya
BongoHive (Zambia): Peter Wamunyima Nawa and Sekayi Fundafunda
Burundi Business Incubator (Burundi): Guillaume Ndayizigiya and Bruce Vaillant Ntangibingura
Cipmen (Niger): Djamilatou Ibrahim Mamane and Issaka Adamou Boukari
DER (Senegal): Carine Vavaseur  and Thierno Sakho
Energy Generation (Togo): Odjouman Allagbe and Lucie Beaurain
GreenHouse Capital (Nigeria): Ruby Nimkar and Mary Joseph
HapaSpace (Ghana): Douglas Israel Boateng and Gideon Brefo
HarHub (Somalia): Ahmed Allie and Khadra Ali
Sycamore Venture (DRC): Shary Lima  and Cécilia Bituka
ideiaLab (Mozambique): Manuel Rego and Adelina Nhanara
Impact Hub Dakar (Senegal): Mame Oulimata Sané and Karmen Sio
Innovation Edge (South Africa): Lyndsey Petro and Temitope A. Ogunyoku
mHub (Malawi): Yolanda Bulirani and Eve Kasambara
Savant (South Africa): Thaheer Mullins
Sensi Tech Hub (Sierra Leone): Mohamed Hemoh and James Yorpoi
Startup Grind Banjul (Gambia): Modou A. Njie and Mbaddiba Jammeh
The Innovation Village (Uganda): Brian Ndyaguma and Samantha Niyonsaba
The TechVillage Innovation Hub (Zimbabwe): Varaidzo Majada and Natalie Moyo
Ventures Platform (Nigeria): Mohamed Felata and Gina Anthony-Essien
Villgro Kenya (Kenya): Gibson Muriuki and Snider Mugese
Wennovation hub (Nigeria): Kissiedu Sandra and Uche Ihim

Read more: Village Capital announces advisory board for NextGen Ecosystem Builders Africa 2020
Read more: New Village Capital programme aims to help those who support African entrepreneurs

Featured image: Supplied



Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights. sign up

Welcome to Ventureburn

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights.