Awief opens nominations for its 2020 awards

UPDATE (7  July 2020): The entry deadline for Awief Awards 2020 has been extended to 20 July 2020. 

The Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum (Awief) is calling for nominations for the Awief Awards 2020.

The awards, which are to be held in December, aim to honour female founders and entrepreneurs designed to recognise and celebrate their contribution to the growth of Africa’s economy.

In a statement last week, the organisation said this year a new award category, the Energy Entrepreneur Award, has been created to recognise excellence in the power, oil and gas, and renewable energy sector.

Nominations for the Awief Awards 2020 close on 30 June

Said Aweif founder and CEO Irene Ochem: “We have an obligation, now more than ever, to recognise and showcase those women founders and entrepreneurs who are building solutions and driving change in the African economy”.

Past AWIEF Awards winners have included: Stella Okolie (Nigeria), Wendy Luhabe (South Africa), Jennifer Riria (Kenya), Soraya da Piedade (Angola); Temie Giwa-Tubosun (Nigeria); Caroline Pomeyie (Ghana).

Nominations can be submitted for eight categories. Nominees can either be nominated by a third party or be self-nominated.

Nominations close on 30 June at 23:59 GMT.

Featured image: Awief via Facebook



Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights. sign up

Welcome to Ventureburn

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest in digital insights.